TEAM

Philipp Klaus, Dr. sc. nat., is an economic and social geographer, for the sake of simplicity also called city researcher. To examine and understand cities, to point out connections, to make comparisons, to follow and describe developments and above all - to ask questions:  How are urban societies changing? Why and how are cities eventised? governed? planned? What interests are involved? Who wins, who loses? How can cities become more sustainable and people act more environmentally friendly? How does the competition of cities affect the lives of the inhabitants? Who may live in the city, who may not? What role does culture play in the economy and what role does economy play in culture?

Philipp Klaus has taught and researched at ETH Zurich (Lectureship Sociology in Architecture, ORL-Institute, IVT), the Geographical Institutes of the Universities of Berne and Zurich. Since 1999 he has coordinated the International Network for Urban Research and Action INURA. In 2003 he founded the INURA Zurich Institute together with Richard Wolff (now City Councillor of Zurich) and Chris Lüthi (now EAWAG), which he has headed alone since 2013.

klaus@inura.ch

Tel. +41-44-563 86 92

Jonas Jakob, BSc Natural Resource Sciences, MSE Spatial Development. Board member at the neighbourhood assembly Neustart Schweiz. Jonas does an internship at INURA Zurich Institute since December 2018. He supports administrative tasks in the network coordination and research work in the areas collaborative housing, sociospatial development and plannings as well as preparations of research concepts. 

jonas.jakob@inura.ch

Tel. +41-44-563 86 92

FORMER EMPLOYEES

Richard Wolff Dr. sc. nat. Social scientist. Co-founder and former co-owner INURA Zurich Institute. Questions of planning, development and participation in urban space. Focal points: Transport, politics, environment and culture.

On 21 April 2013, co-founder Richard Wolff was elected to the city council (government) by the electorate of the city of Zurich. Richard Wolff is therefore no longer a member of the INURA Zurich Institute since 1st June 2013, but a City Councillor of the City of Zurich.

Chris Lüthi, Ph.D. (Dr.-Ing.) in Urban Infrastructure Planning (TU Berlin) as well as MSc. in Urban Development Planning (UCL London). Co-founder and former co-owner of INURA Zurich Institute.
Chris Lüthi worked at the INURA Zurich Institute from 2003 to 2005, focusing on decentralisation & local self-government in development cooperation as well as urban development strategies & participative neighbourhood development. Chris Lüthi works now for EAWAG-Sandec.

Stefan Donati worked at the INURA Zurich Institute from July 2014 to October 2017. His tasks include in particular the evaluation of surveys (spaces and movements of creative people, event culture), but also editorial and conceptual activities (accommodation mediation platforms).

Christina Zvecevac joined the INURA Zurich Institute in 2014. She holds a Master of Advanced Studies in Arts Management from the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW) and has been working in the creative industry for advertising and branding agencies as Account Director since 2001. At INURA she helped with the study on the movements of cultural areas and creative companies.

Rahel Nüssli (Msc in Geography) has been working as a doctoral student and research assistant at the Department of Sociology of the Department of Architecture at ETH Zurich since 2010. Rahel Nüssli, together with other lecturers from the department, heads the elective. Rahel Nüssli has been employed at the INURA Zurich Institute since 2014 as part of the socio-spatial study Rosengarten - Buchegg.

Caroline Ting studied architecture at the RWTH Aachen, TU Vienna and ETH Zurich. In 2009 she completed the postgraduate program Master of Advanced Studies ETH in Housing at ETH CASE and since then has been working at the Department of Sociology of the Department of Architecture at ETH Zurich in teaching and research. Caroline Ting worked at the INURA Zurich Institute as part of the sociological study Rosengarten - Buchegg.

TEAM

Philipp Klaus, Dr. sc. nat., ist Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeograph, der Einfachheit halber auch Stadtforscher genannt. Städte untersuchen und verstehen, Zusammenhänge aufzeigen, Vergleiche anstellen, Entwicklungen verfolgen und beschreiben und vor allem - Fragen stellen: Wie verändern sich städtische Gesellschaften? Warum und wie werden Städte eventisiert? regiert? geplant? Welche Interessen sind im Spiel? Wer gewinnt, wer verliert? Wie können Städte zukunftsfähiger werden und Menschen umweltgerechter handeln? Wie wirkt sich der Wettbewerb der Städte auf das Leben der Bewohnenden aus? Wer darf in der Stadt wohnen, wer nicht? Welche Rolle spielt die Kultur in der Ökonomie und welche die Ökonomie in der Kultur?

Philipp Klaus hat an ETH Zürich (Dozentur Soziologie in der Architektur, ORL-Institut, IVT), den Geographischen Instituten der Universitäten Bern und Zürich gelehrt und geforscht. Seit 1999 koordiniert er das International Network for Urban Research and Action INURA. 2003 hat er das INURA Zürich Institut zusammen mit Richard Wolff (heute Stadtrat von Zürich) und Chris Lüthi (heute EAWAG) gegründet, welches er seit 2013 alleine leitet.

klaus@inura.ch

Tel. +41-44-563 86 92

Jonas Jakob, BSc Umweltingenieurswesen ZFH, MSE Raumentwicklung. Vorstandsmitglied beim Nachbarschaftsverein Neustart Schweiz. Jonas absolviert seit Dezember 2018 ein Praktikum beim INURA Zürich Institut. Er unterstützt administrative Aufgaben in der Netzwerkkoordination von INURA und Recherchearbeiten in den Bereichen collaborative housing / Wohnbaugenossenschaften, sozialräumliche Entwicklungen und Planungen sowie die Vorbereitung von Forschungskonzepten.

jonas.jakob@inura.ch

Tel. +41-44-563 86 92

EHEMALIGE MITARBEITENDE

Richard Wolff Dr. sc. nat. Sozialwissenschafter. Mitgründer und ehemaliger Mitinhaber INURA Zürich Institut. Planungs-, Entwicklungs- und Partizipationsfragen im urbanen Raum. Schwerpunkte: Verkehr, Politik, Umwelt und Kultur.

Am 21. April 2013 wurde Mitbegründer Richard Wolff vom Stimmvolk der Stadt Zürich in den Stadtrat (Regierung) gewählt. Deshalb ist Richard Wolff seit dem 1. Juni 2013 nicht mehr beim INURA Zürich Institut, sondern Stadtrat der Stadt Zürich.

Chris Lüthi, Ph.D. (Dr.-Ing.) in Urban Infrastructure Planning (TU Berlin) sowie MSc. in Urban Development Planning (UCL London). Mitgründer und ehemaliger Mitinhaber INURA Zürich Institut. Chris Lüthi arbeitete von 2003 bis 2005 beim INURA Zürich Institut, mit Schwerpunkten auf Dezentralisierung & kommunale Selbstverwaltung in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit sowie Stadtentwicklungsstrategien & partizipative Stadtteilentwicklung. Inzwischen arbeitet Chris Lüthi bei Eawag-Sandec.

Stefan Donati war von Juli 2014 bis Oktober 2017 beim INURA Zürich Institut tätig. Zu seinen Aufgaben zählen insbesondere Auswertungen von Umfragen (Räume und Bewegungen der Kreativen, Eventkultur), aber auch redaktionelle und konzeptionelle Tätigkeiten (Unterkunft Vermittlungsplattformen).

Christina Zvecevac stiess 2014 zum INURA Zürich Institut. Sie verfügt über einen Master of Advanced Studies in Arts Management der Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften (zhaw) und ist seit 2001 in der Kreativwirtschaft für Werbe- und Branding-Agenturen als Account Director tätig. Bei INURA half sie mit bei der Studie zur Erforschung der Bewegungen von Kulturräumen und Kreativunternehmen.

Rahel Nüssli (Msc in Geografie) arbeitet seit 2010 als Doktorandin und wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Dozentur Soziologie des Departement Architektur an der ETH Zürich. Rahel Nüssli leitet zusammen mit anderen der Dozentur das Wahlfach. Beim INURA Zürich Institut war Rahel Nüssli seit 2014 im Rahmen der sozialräumlichen Studie Rosengarten - Buchegg angestellt.

Caroline Ting studierte Architektur an der RWTH Aachen, TU Wien und ETH Zürich. 2009 schloss sie das postgraduale Programm Master of Advanced Studies ETH in Housing am ETH CASE ab und arbeitet seither an der Dozentur Soziologie des Departements Architektur der ETH Zürich in Lehre und Forschung. Beim INURA Zürich Institut war Caroline Ting im Rahmen der sozialrämlichen Studie Rosengarten - Buchegg tätig.